Pyocopyoco Ultra / Suugaku♥Joshi Gakuen

I decided I won’t do single reviews unless I really feel like it, and well… now I do! Morning Musume are releasing their 48th single titled Pyocopyoco Ultra on January 25th 2012.

When I first heard the preview, I was pleased. It’s not that I personally loved it, although the sounds that reminded me of computer games I played as a little girl did make me smile. A more genki version of C-ute’s Momoiro Sparkling, I thought it would be a fan success. How wrong I was. Next thing I saw was the PV preview with insanely cute puffy dresses… and tweets that can be shortened into this: wtf worst single ever ugly chicks hate hate hate goodbye!!! I totally didn’t expect that. This might be not more than my 30th favourite single from Momusu, but I do like it. Why the hate? (Click here for the PV.)

I hear it’s the outfits that bug you?

Oh it’s birds you have a problem with? But the kyuukies already had their practice with the mother hen.

I see. It’s the fact that this is a single release that’s bothering you? Looks like these monkeyz have something to say to that…

Now I get it. You don’t want a Momusu single outfit being silly? Because they are the senior group so they should act their age? I see.

Still not convinced?

Don’t take it to heart, I’m not poking fun at you! ^^

It’s just I think a Momusu/H!P fan should be used to things being like this and possibly even enjoy it! I mean, enjoy the fact that idols can make you laugh too, not just… your nose bleed, as they say. And not act like the world is ending when idols dance in puffy yellow dresses that have *gasp* even faces on them. I’m not saying everyone should find the outfits cute, but… why make it such a big deal? It’s still the same idols and next time I’m sure, they will wear something completely different.

Guys, this is Morning Musume! It will never stay exactly the same, and I don’t want it to! Have we been following the same group?

Later on, I saw a lot of neutral-ish and positive reactions to this single as well and I’m still optimistic about the sales being at least average. Many people are completely in love with Pyocopyoco Ultra. But it was the negative reactions that came as a surprise to me. I’m not upset about this at all, it’s just I don’t think I’ve ever heard such extreme reactions regarding a H!P single before, so I can’t help but wonder.

But now, I’m off to read what other bloggers have to say about this single.

One more thing before I go. Between you and me… I do wish this had been the real PV. And I really want the actor of Kazuki to join Momusu. Oops… did I type that out loud? Ahem. If you’re wondering what this is about, Pyocopyoco Ultra is used as the opening to a cute new jdrama called Suugaku♥Joshi Gakuen, starring Reina and Sayumi with other H!P girls in minor roles. It’s a typical low budget idol drama… very entertaining for us fans! :) I for one can’t wait for the next episode. Meanwhile, let’s enjoy these screencaps.

PS: I know Gaki is graduating from Morning Musume come the spring tour. I just don’t have anything to say about it. Except that I do hope she gets the same treatment as her fellow gokki member just did.

9 thoughts on “Pyocopyoco Ultra / Suugaku♥Joshi Gakuen

  1. I think this is a great post. I still don’t know what I think of the soing as I haven’t heard it enough yet but I so totally agree with your attitude to people who think the pv is too silly or whatever. People forget that Momusu have always had a mixture of fun songs and more serious ones and that the majority of the members now are around the same age as S/mileage’s members and they don’t complain when they pig out. Great post!

    • Thank you. :) Yes I think a lot of people forget how young Momusu are now. And that this isn’t anything new to the group. Gaki, Sayu, Reina and Aika are much in the same situation now as as Kei, Nacchi, Kaori and Mari were in Hyokkori Hyotanjima. And I can’t see any of them suffering.

  2. THANK you!!!! That pic spam really brings it home. I couldn’t have said it (or pic-ed it) better myself. ^_^ And it’s funny, this single made me rediscover ganki-childish momusu again. Hyokkori Hyoutanjima ftw!!!
    Wouldn’t boys joining just be the next step in the evolution? He is extremely cute doing the dance…

  3. The parts at the beginning made me laugh a lot XD This was an especially fun to read blogpost. Graet to know your thoughts on Gaki’s graduation. I somehow doubt she will get the same treatment as Aichan though. I hope she does though.

  4. I just found your blog, and I love this post! -flaps wings- you say everything I wanted to ever say, but forgot about -I have a BIG issue with the fans who take everything out on the costumes. Heck, AKB ran around as vegetables, and yet everything they do is brilliant? pffft-

    This was such an entertaining and wonderful post! I am so happy I found it!!!! -flaps wings-

Leave a comment