Sayumi’s Birthday

Morning Musume’s 6th generation member Sayumi Michishige was born on July 13th, 1989. She is… how many years today?

Correct, she is 22! (This is not a new photo of her. To see how she looks today, see the Photo of the Week on the right hand side.)

In fact, 22 is a very special bunny number. Did you guys know that February 22nd is the Official Bunny Day? No? If that’s the case, I suggest you celebrate it starting next year. You all know how to, right? V(^^)V What’s more, Sayu has said to have the urge to do the usachan peace pose whenever the time is 22 minutes past something. And now she is 22 years old. Isn’t that amazing? I think it is.

Well more like, Sayu is amazing. Sayu has been my oshimen since the beginning of my fandom. Sayumi really is amazing and clearly above all other idols for me. So… I’ve been a huge Sayu fan for the past four years and others might say, I’ve wasted countless of hours fangirling. But I have loved every second of it. Those seconds, minutes, hours, days… they are precious gifts that have given me so much joy and inspiration.

I wish I knew the language well enough to write this in (confident) Japanese. But, dear Sayumin! I wish you a Happy Birthday! You will grow older but please always stay the cute and smart bunny you are. I will support you forever. お誕生日おめでとうございます、さゆみん!

I would love to end this post with a stunningly beautiful and adorably cute picspam but I’m sad to say, I have only just started rebuilding my H!P photo folders in my new laptop, so I can’t find my favourite photos easily anymore. However, here is a picture of the cake I baked for Sayu with my sister.

My sister is not a fan of idols but she loves baking. When I told her I wanted to bake a birthday cake for my favourite Morning Musume member, she didn’t laugh. Instead, she said she would be happy to do it with me. And in the end, she did most of the work as it was her recipe. The extremely unprofessional decoration is mine though. So… thank you sis. :)

13 thoughts on “Sayumi’s Birthday

  1. Sayumi is still the cutest in Momusu and yes, frankly she is wonderful! You have good taste! That cake looks quite tasty. Almost as tasty as Sayu herself. I wonder if it tastes as nice? ^^

  2. Happy birthday Sayu! We’re now the same age :D

    Nice job on the cake as well! I’ve always wanted to do something similar myself but my chronic laziness has always seemed to hamper such efforts…

    • Thank you. I like baking, it’s almost a hobby for me, I probably wouldn’t have done this otherwise. :) And to be honest I suck at baking cakes like this. I don’t think I could have done the cutting part myself. It was cut in three parts and filled with apricot jam before decoration.

Leave a Reply

