From Cute to Stylish: Sayu’s Hairstyles

For a long time, Sayumi has been known in Morning Musume as the one who never changes her hair colour. Which is a good thing! Black hair is beautiful and I hope she will always keep it like that. However, she enjoys experimenting with different hairstyles, and she often comments on the subject in her blog. I’ve been paying a lot of attention to this lately so I thought I’d dedicate a whole blog post to… Sayu’s hair!

Not interested in comparing hairstyles? Just ignore my babbling and enjoy the cute picspam, taken from this year’s blog entries! :)

Here is a pic with Sayu sporting a natural look, and another one with her hair curled inwards at the ends. Nothing wrong with being natural, but I do like the curls! Be ready for…

…More curls! And the fun look she calls bunny hair. You can’t see it very well here, but it’s two high ponytails, isn’t it. Very Sayumi. Especially when combined with a bunny ears headband.

Straight hair and a cute little braid to keep her fringe away. Sayu says she feels insecure exposing her forehead, but I love it when she does, because she has gorgeous eyebrows. The hairdo on the right hand side is one of my favourites I’ve ever seen on her. The romantic and feminine style suits her well, don’t you think! It’s done by her make-up artist (as most of her complicated hairdos appear to be), and Sayu wishes she could braid her hair that well herself. I wish I could too. I mean, braid Sayu’s hair.

Besides braids, Sayu says she really likes ponytails as of late. A high ponytail gives her a cute and youthful look. And well, hiding behind your fringe is sort of cute too! ^^

An up-do like this makes her look a little bit older. It’s interesting and somehow… nostalgic? I mean it looks like fashion from several decades back. Sayu is beautiful as always though. And the eyebrows! I’d kill kick a puppy to have eyebrows like that. (Yes, I should feel bad now and I do. But I promise, I’d make the kick very gentle!)

Here, a different kind of up-do. Very stylish! And on the right hand side, a cute cute cute braids look with a lovely flowery headband. Speaking of hair accessories, that’s something she has been into for years. I wonder if she still has her hair tie collection she showed in Futarigoto back in 2004.

Is that all? No, of course not. I remember her sporting a hairdo with two huge bunches on both sides of her head, but I couldn’t easily find a pic of it. In any case, I think this is enough to show her latest hairstyles and I have to say, I really like all of them. Actually, I’m thinking of growing my hair longer just so I can copy them. But, dear readers! Which hairstyle do you prefer for Sayu? I need the information as it will come in handy in my future job as Sayu’s make-up artist. (Aww… don’t be a spoilsport. Let a fangirl have her dreams.)

6 thoughts on “From Cute to Stylish: Sayu’s Hairstyles

  1. Nice post! Sayu can really pull of anything! I love her twin tails look the most!

    I thought you would mention how it looks like she is trying to grow out her bangs now, maybe in an attempt to look more mature?

    Anyways, I’ve been reading your blog for awhile. It’s my first time commenting! >w<

    • Ah she really is growing it out? I remember a blog post where she mentioned something like that, but I thought it was more like, it’s getting too long and she should cut it. But it wouldn’t be a bad idea at all!

      Welcome Rinakss, it’s always nice to see new people commenting! And old people too, even though I’m not replying everyone individually. ^^

      I don’t think I said it, but I love the twin ponytails too! That and the braid on top of her forehead with a side ponytail would be my favourites.

Leave a Reply

