Erina Manochan

Here it is, finally! A blog entry dedicated to the most charming soloist that Hello! Project has ever brought us. Everyone is talking about Yuu Kikkawa these days, but I’m not that impressed yet. And while I think H!P had some great soloists in the past… there is one current H!P soloist that I like more than all of them combined. That’s right, this blog post is all about… Erina Mano!

“Yep, that’s my name!”

I named my blog after her song Hanakotoba. Have you heard it yet? Why don’t you listen to the song while you read the rest of my post! ^^ Here you go:

This entry won’t be as detailed as my Sayu love letter praise post, but I can only blame myself for that. Momusu takes so much of my attention, I often feel like I’m neglecting Erina. I haven’t watched half the things she has been in, and I’m ashamed to say I hardly ever check her blog. I don’t own any official photos of her (I’m soon to receive some as a lovely present from my friend though!) and I only have bought two of her singles. But I’m a big fan nevertheless and every time I see her on my laptop screen, I feel like I want to support her more!

When I think of Manoeri, the first thing to come to mind are her facial expressions. Her smile is one of the most wonderful things in H!P. If you can look through these pics without a hint of smile on your face, there is something wrong with you. Possibly in a bad way. What, don’t stop reading my blog just yet! I said, possibly. ^^

Adorable, isn’t she? And it’s not just the way she looks. No matter how hard I think, I can’t find a single reason to dislike her. Sweet and polite, she is the kind of idol I like. Huh? But Sayumi is not exactly famous for being polite, is she? Yes dear reader, I get your point, but sometimes FUNNY just wins POLITE. ^^ Now, back to Mano. Besides having a lovely personality and looks to match, her singing voice is very pleasant to my ears and her solo songs are pure love. A bit different from the rest of H!P, they may not be everyone’s cup of tea, but they certainly are mine!

Speaking of her songs, how do you like Hanakotoba? I think it’s a beautiful and soothing song, but not my number one favourite from her. Some of the recent singles such as Haru no Arashi and Onegai Dakara are great, but overall I prefer the unique and charming piano style she had back in 2008 and 2009. I like Lucky Aura and Manopiano lots and the best of all is the fun and cute Sekai wa Summer Party! I also recommend everyone pay more attention to Kono Mune no Tokimeki wo, which is a ballad with lyrics that I love so much I could cry! Check out the c/w songs too (my favourite is Jasmine Tea and my guilty pleasure is Hello! Esper! Hello! which nobody else seems to like), as well as the album songs (I recommend Oyasuminasai from Friends and Dare ni mo Iwanaide from More Friends).

I became a bigger fan about a year ago after watching her appear in Music Fighter to promote Sekai wa Summer Party. The theme of the episode was Mano’s wish to interact with her fans. She sang happy birthday to a fan and another fan got a handshake from her. She also gave everyone doughnuts she had made herself the previous night. Yes, it’s true, any idol can be promoted like this. But Manochan does it all with such genuine enthusiasm, I can’t help but love her! She is also making an effort to approach her non-Japanese fans by learning foreign languages. She tweets usually in Japanese, but very often she also says something in English or Korean.

A lucky fangirl just got a handshake from Erina, neither of them can stop smiling!

Erina Manochan has the image of a girl next door, doesn’t she! She is the friend idol. Or girlfriend if you wish, but the kind of girlfriend who is also your best friend. She has FRIENDS, she has MORE FRIENDS. Does she need you to be her friend too? Of course!

I love watching her concert performances as well. Her singing and dancing never fails to cheer me up, and she gets the best concert outfits I can imagine! Seriously, can a dress get any prettier than this! Oh and I could say the same about her pose.

And finally, I want to share with you guys some of my favourite Manochan pics. They don’t really need captions, they speak for themselves. Or in some cases, they sing. Or sleep. No wait, that doesn’t make any sense. XD Oh well, just ignore me and look at the pics.

Right now I’m trying to not to spend much on H!P but next time I buy something at HSUSA, I’ll be sure to include some of her photos in my order, no matter how many cute Sayu sets there are. I also want to watch one of her movies, or finally finish Hanbun Esper. I wish to support her more in every way. Let this post be my reminder, and maybe yours too!

Thank you Manochan! ♥

9 thoughts on “Erina Manochan

  1. She really is a sweetheart. I was actually blown away by how well she carried herself and how kind she was with her fans in her Los Angeles movie premiere. I wasn’t quite sure what to expect, but she sure exceeded it.

    Also, if you get the chance, do check out “Kai-Ki: Tales of Terror from Tokyo,” her acting really is quite impressive in it!

    • I watched the TV programme on the LA visit a while ago, and it made me like her even more. If I lived in LA or somewhere close enough in America, I would have definitely wanted to go there. (But I can’t complain since I got Paris instead.)

      I don’t watch horror often (not a big fan), but I’d definitely watch a horror film with Mano in it! :) I’ll check it out sometime.

  2. I really like Mano-chan. And thanks for reminding me she’s there xP I’ve been whisped away by Kikka lately, as you said. It’s a shame about the sales though. I thought he singles were getting better :( Her dancing and singing too! Such a improvement! Although I absolutely adore Mano(I mean, she’s so cute!) I never really got the feeling that she was going anywhere :/ I thought yeah, pretty face, nice voice, but I never felt it was enough to top the charts. I’m hoping Kikka will give me a different feeling. Although H!P still has a fair sized fanbase, I think the 9th gen and Kikka could chnage the future of H!P. MANOERINA! FIGHTING~

    • Maya: I’m surprised too she’s not selling more, because her singles are getting… well, not better in my opinion, but more mainstream maybe? I hope Yuu will do well too, but not if it means less attention to Erina.

      Morningtime: Thanks. :)

    • Oh, thanks! :) I found it a bit difficult to write a Mano praise post, because my reasons to like her aren’t very specific, it’s mostly just a happy feeling that she gives me.

  3. Pingback: Happy Birthday Manochan « Hanakotoba!

  4. Pingback: Happy Birthday Hanakotoba! « Hanakotoba!

Leave a Reply

